



## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:**

Montgomery County, MD July 15, 2022

Democratic Clubs of Color, Association of Black Democrats of Montgomery County (ABD), Coalition of Asian Pacific American Democrats in Maryland (CAPAD, and Latino Democratic Club of Montgomery County (LDC) Announce its Joint Endorsements in the July 19<sup>th</sup> Democratic Primary

Association of Black Democrats of Montgomery County, Coalition of Asian Pacific American Democrats in Maryland, and Latino Democratic Club of Montgomery County announced their joint endorsements for the July 19<sup>th</sup> Democratic primary today.

"We are very excited about the quality of the candidates in this year's primary, and the demonstrated commitment of our endorsees to the advancement of the issues that impact ethnic communities in Maryland," voiced by Will Roberts ABD Chair.

"We believe that our endorsed candidates are tremendous leaders who, when elected, will help to pass laws on pressing issues relating to healthcare, education, transportation, social services and small businesses," said CAPAD Co-Chairs Matthew Lee and Bakhshish Singh.

"We have particular concerns with these issues and their unique impact on our community. We believe that our endorsees will be sensitive and responsive to our concerns as they enact and enforce legislation that impacts everyone in Maryland," said LDC Chair Luisa Arevalo.

This year's endorsements followed a lengthy review process for all candidates. Endorsement decisions were based on the candidates' record of public or community service, involvement in the ethnic communities, and positions on issues of concern to the ethnic communities. Based on these criteria, the three clubs of color endorsed the following candidates:

Office Endorsed Candidate

U.S. Senate Chris Van Hollen

U.S. House of Representatives District 8: Jamie Raskin

Maryland State Senators District 14: Craig J. Zucker

District 15: Brian J. Feldman District 16: Susan C. Lee

Maryland House of Delegates District 14: Anne R. Kaiser

Eric Luedtke Pamela Queen

District 15: Linda Foley

David Fraser-Hidalgo

District 16: Marc Korman

District 17: Julie Palakovich Carr District 18: Aaron M. Kaufman District 19: Bonnie Cullison District 20: Lorig Charkoudian

David Moon

District 39: Gabriel Acevero

Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich

Montgomery County Council District 2: William Roberts

District 3: Sidney Katz District 4: Kate Stewart At Large: Gabe Albornoz

Will Jawondo Lauie-Anne Sayles

Montgomery County Board of Education: District 1: Grace Rivera Oven

District 5: Brenda Wolf At Large: Karla Silvestre